h1

Too Cool Not to Share!

March 10, 2009

Last time I wrote I was having issues with my sometimes cranky computer (or maybe the issues had to do with me the operator…. could they?!!).  🙂  Today is a new day and I am back in full swing with Cuadra Star- all smiles!

Apart from my everyday duties, my primary focus this year is to input our catalog records into the software program for our “soon to be” online catalog. We have been furiously inputting records for a few months and I have enjoyed the opportunity to look at the collections (I am curator of maps and photographs) item by item to input the best version of our cataloging information into the massive database. For too long the historical society’s collections have not been well-represented on the digital horizon of historical materials. Like any collecting agency, we have such cool things and sharing them is what we’re about- so this project is very exciting!

To date, I have entered more than 700 items into Cuadra! Today, I am again cataloging and I wanted to share a few of the images that I’m working on as the morning draws to a close and 11:45 is here. I hope you enjoy the images as much as I do!

Oversize Photo 6.7

Oversize photo 6.7 Emile Bucher took this photograph of the New Castle Rear Range Lighthouse in 1912. It was built in 1876 as a home and tower, the structure’s light was 50’ above the base and 90’ above the Delaware River. The light was 2 feet in diameter and the glass windows were 44” square. The Coast Guard sold the lighthouse as excess property in the early 1950s. At the request of the owner, it was burned in 1982.

Oversize Photo 6.28
Image by Delaware Historical Society via Flickr

Oversize photo 6.28 This is one small part of a panoramic view taken from the railroad tracks looking north into the city of Wilmington sometime between 1909 and 1918. The Delaware Hardware Company (a sign sits atop the building) was located on Shipley Street. In the background is the cupola of Old Town Hall, 512 Market Street (owned by the Delaware Historical Society) and toward the left in the background is the large DuPont Company building that stands at 10th and Market streets.

~Ellen

One comment

  1. Hi Ellen,
    I found the panoramic photo from 1909-1916 in the old house i live in, i am wondering if it is the original? How would i go about finding that out and if i want to make up a print from it how would i do that without hurting the photo?

    thanks so much
    Brittnay



Leave a Reply

